Emma Jungling

mezzo-soprano

Emma Jungling -Mezzo_edited.jpg

Emma Jüngling is a Franco-Swiss mezzo-soprano based in London. She is the winner of the Friedl Wald Prize in 2016, the Bourse du Cercle Romand Richard Wagner in 2017 and the Alice Gamble Prize 2019.

Emma first studied singing with Hiroko Kawamichi at the Haute Ecole de Musique in Lausanne until 2017. After obtaining her Bachelor's degree there, she continued her studies with Caitlin Hulcup and Marek Ruszczynski at the Royal Academy of Music in Lausanne. London and obtained a distinction for his Master's degree as well as a DipRam for an excellent recital at the end of his studies. She is currently a private student of British soprano Cathy Pope.

Since 2016, the young mezzo has been part of the choir of the Opéra de Lausanne and has been a soloist for their Young Audience workshops for two seasons. Her first stage role was Tituba in The Crucible by Robert Ward at the Berlin Opera Academy in 2019 thanks to the Lorna White Prize.

During her studies at HEMU or RAM in London, Emma had the chance to explore many roles such as Octavian (Der Rosenkavalier), Dorabella (Così fan tutte), Carmen and Mercédès (Carmen) and Cherubino ( Le Nozze di Figaro). She has also participated in numerous masterclasses with, among others, Susan Bullock, Heidi Brunner, Nadine Denize and Steven Higgins.

Emma has been heard as a soloist in Schönberg's Pierrot Lunaire as well as in Handel's Israel in Egypt conducted by Leonardo Garcia Alarcon. His oratorio repertoire also includes the Dixit Dominus by Scarlatti and Handel, the Requiem by Dvorak and the Oratorio de Noël by Saint-Saëns.

With the pandemic having canceled and postponed a large number of projects, Emma is very excited to return to the stage as a member of the choir at the prestigious Grange Opera Festival in England this summer. She will then join the young artists of the Wexford Opera Festival in Ireland in October 2021. Emma will sing the role of Venus in Orpheus in the Underworld with the Opéra des Champs (Bulle) in 2023.

Emma Jüngling

Mezzo soprano

Emma Jungling -Mezzo_edited.jpg

Emma Jüngling est une mezzo-soprano franco-suisse basée à Londres. Elle est lauréate du prix Friedl Wald en 2016, de la Bourse du Cercle Romand Richard Wagner en 2017 et du prix Alice Gamble 2019.

Emma a d’abord étudié le chant auprès de Hiroko Kawamichi à la Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne jusqu’en 2017. Après y avoir obtenu son Bachelor, elle poursuit ses études auprès de Caitlin Hulcup et Marek Ruszczynski à la Royal Academy of Music de Londres et obtient une distinction pour son Master ainsi qu’un DipRam pour un excellent récital de fin d’études. Elle est actuellement élève privée de la soprano britannique Cathy Pope.

Depuis 2016, la jeune mezzo fait partie du choeur de l’Opéra de Lausanne et a été soliste pour leurs ateliers Jeune Public pendant deux saisons. Son premier rôle sur scène est Tituba dans The Crucible par Robert Ward à la Berlin Opera Academy en 2019 grâce au prix Lorna White.

Durant ses études à l’HEMU ou à la RAM de Londres, Emma a eu la chance d’explorer de nombreux rôles tels qu’Octavian (Der Rosenkavalier), Dorabella (Così fan tutte), Carmen et Mercédès (Carmen) et Cherubino (Le Nozze di Figaro). Elle a également participé à des nombreuses masterclasses avec, entre autres, Susan Bullock, Heidi Brunner, Nadine Denize et Steven Higgins.

Emma a pu être entendue comme soliste dans le Pierrot Lunaire de Schönberg ainsi que dans Israel en Egypte de Haendel dirigé par Leonardo Garcia Alarcon. Son répertoire d’oratorio comprend également les Dixit Dominus de Scarlatti et Haendel, le Requiem de Dvorak et l’Oratorio de Noël de Saint-Saëns.

La pandémie ayant annulé et reporté un grand nombre de projets, Emma se réjouit beaucoup de remonter sur scène en tant que membre du choeur du prestigieux Grange Opera Festival en Angleterre cet été. Elle rejoindra ensuite les jeunes artistes du Wexford Opera Festival en Irlande en Octobre 2021. Emma chantera le rôle de Vénus dans Orphée aux Enfers avec l’Opéra des Champs (Bulle) en 2023.