frederic bager

Pianist

fredericbager.png

Frederic Bager is a laureate of the Pour-cent Culturel Migros. In addition to offering him scholarships, this prize has supported his concerts in Switzerland for several years and has allowed him to perform in prestigious venues. In 2018, he played Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 2 with the OSUL under the direction of Hervé Klopfenstein in Lausanne (Métropole room), and in 2019 Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 1 with the Swiss Philharmonic Academy in Berlin (Great Hall of the Philharmonie), Cologne (Philharmonie), London (St John's Smith Square), Lausanne (Salle Paderewski), Bern (Französische Kirche) and Zurich (St. Peterskirche), then at the end of the year the Totentanz of Liszt with the Orchester Symphonique Genevois conducted by Hervé Klopfenstein in Geneva (Victoria Hall).

 

Among his other recent appearances: several solo concerts and chamber music at the Davos Festival (August 2018 and August 2019, re-invited in 2020), as well as numerous recitals throughout Switzerland, and on RTS Espace 2. In England , Frederic notably performed in Bristol (Colston Hall) and London (St James Piccadilly and Wigmore Hall in a masterclass by Richard Goode).

 

His first CD, Dawnsong, was released in London in 2019 under the Sheva label. It includes works by Robert and Clara Schumann, Johannes Brahms and Alban Berg.

 

Frederic is also active in chamber music. Passionate about accompanying singers, he received advice from the famous accompanist Roger Vignoles. He has performed with cellist Constantin Macherel on Espace 2 in the Tribune des Jeunes Musiciens and his recent contributions to the Davos Festival 2019 include Boulez's Sonatine with flautist Jaymee Coonjobeeharry, as well as Schoenberg's Ode to Napoleon.

 

In summer 2018, Frederic Bager received his Master of Arts with Distinction at the Royal Academy of Music in London in the class of Ian Fountain. The institution awarded him the Sterndale Bennett Prize for his interpretation of Schumann and Chopin, as well as the DipRAM title for his outstanding graduation recital. He was named Hodgson Fellow, an honorary prize inviting him to participate in the life of the institution during the year 2018-19.

Previously he had obtained the Bachelor of Music with First Class mention at the Royal College of Music in London in 2016, in the class of Andrew Ball, where he had received the Kendall Taylor Prize for his interpretation of Beethoven.

 

Born in 1991 in London, Frederic Bager spent his childhood in French-speaking Switzerland. He started playing the piano at a very young age with the support of several private teachers before joining the Lausanne Conservatory and then that of Geneva. In 2005 he received a 1st Prize at the Swiss Youth Music Competition. From 2007 he continued his education at Wells Cathedral School in England, where he studied piano with John Byrne. During this period he performed Grieg's Concerto in China and Hong Kong, and in 2010 he was winner of the Moray Piano Competition and finalist in the keyboard category of the BBC Young Musician competition.

frédéric bager

Pianiste

fredericbager.png

Frederic Bager est lauréat du Pour-cent Culturel Migros. En plus de lui offrir des bourses d’études, ce prix soutient ses concerts en Suisse depuis plusieurs années et lui a permis de se produire dans des salles prestigieuses. En 2018, il a joué le Concerto pour piano No. 2 de Brahms avec l’OSUL sous la direction de Hervé Klopfenstein à Lausanne (salle Métropole), et en 2019 le Concerto pour piano No. 1 de Brahms avec la Swiss Philharmonic Academy à Berlin (Grande Salle de la Philharmonie), Cologne (Philharmonie), Londres (St John’s Smith Square), Lausanne (Salle Paderewski), Berne (Französische Kirche) et Zurich (St. Peterskirche), puis en fin d’année la Totentanz de Liszt avec l’Orchestre Symphonique Genevois dirigé par Hervé Klopfenstein à Genève (Victoria Hall).

 

Parmi ses autres récentes apparitions : plusieurs concerts en solo et musique de chambre au Davos Festival (août 2018 et août 2019, réinvité en 2020), ainsi que de nombreux récitals dans toute la Suisse, et sur les ondes de RTS Espace 2. En Angleterre, Frederic s’est notamment produit à Bristol (Colston Hall) et à Londres (St James Piccadilly et Wigmore Hall dans une masterclass de Richard Goode).

 

Son premier CD, Dawnsong, est sorti à Londres en 2019 sous le label Sheva. Il comprend des œuvres de Robert et Clara Schumann, Johannes Brahms et Alban Berg.

 

Frederic est également actif en musique de chambre. Passionné par l’accompagnement de chanteurs, il reçoit les conseils du célèbre accompagnateur Roger Vignoles. Il a joué avec le violoncelliste Constantin Macherel sur Espace 2 dans la Tribune des Jeunes Musiciens et ses récentes contributions au Davos Festival 2019 incluent la Sonatine de Boulez avec le flûtiste Jaymee Coonjobeeharry, ainsi que l’Ode à Napoléon de Schoenberg.

 

En été 2018, Frederic Bager a reçu son Master of Arts avec mention Distinction à la Royal Academy of Music de Londres dans la classe de Ian Fountain. L’institution lui a décerné le prix Sterndale Bennett pour son interprétation de Schumann et Chopin, ainsi que le titre DipRAM pour son récital de fin d’études exceptionnel. Il a été nommé Hodgson Fellow, prix honorifique l’invitant à participer à la vie de l’institution pendant l’année 2018-19.

Précédemment il avait obtenu le Bachelor of Music avec la mention First Class au Royal College of Music de Londres en 2016, dans la classe de Andrew Ball, où il avait reçu le prix Kendall Taylor pour son interprétation de Beethoven.

 

Né en 1991 à Londres, Frederic Bager a passé son enfance en Suisse romande. Il a commencé le piano très jeune avec le soutien de plusieurs professeurs privés avant de rejoindre le Conservatoire de Lausanne puis de celui de Genève. En 2005 il a reçu un 1er Prix au Concours Suisse de Musique pour la Jeunesse. Dès 2007 il a poursuivi sa scolarité à la Wells Cathedral School en Angleterre, où il a étudié le piano auprès de John Byrne. Pendant cette période, il a joué le Concerto de Grieg en Chine et à Hong Kong, et en 2010 il a été lauréat du Moray Piano Competition et finaliste catégorie claviers du concours BBC Young Musician.